Deleting Entity Records in Data Studio

Mike Jones
Mike Jones
  • Updated

This article will help you understand how to delete entity records in Data Studio.

Delete individual records

An individual record can be deleted in Data Studio. To delete an individual record, click on the kebab menu icon Screen_Shot_2022-12-22_at_2.51.14_PM.png for the record. Select "Delete" to bring up the delete record prompt.

There are two options to select from when deleting an individual record:

  • Delete Record in Syncari Only - This option will delete the record from the Syncari database only. The record will not be deleted in any end systems in your entity pipline. Use this option if you want to recreate the Syncari record from your connected systems.  
  • Delete Record in Connected Systems - There are a few things to keep in mind when using this option.
    1. The record will be flagged as deleted in Syncari using the system field "Is Syncari Deleted". This means you will see the record in Data Studio after delete.
    2. The deletion of the record in the connected system will depend on the record being ID Mapped with the connected end system.
    3. The connected system must also support/allow a deletion of the record. 

After selecting the appropriate option, enter DELETE to confirm and click OK. 

2021-06-09_18-19-011.gif

 

Delete a filtered set of records

If needed, you can delete a group of entity records from Data studio.
1. Start by setting a filter to find the entity records that need to be deleted.
2. Next, click on the kebab menu icon to the right of the View Pipeline button. Select Delete records. You'll be presented with 2 options,

  • Delete Records in Syncari Only - This option will delete the record from the Syncari database only. The record will not be deleted in any end systems connected to your entity pipeline. Use this option if you want to clean up the records stored in Syncari only. The deleted records may be recreated when they sync in from your connected systems.  
  • Delete Record in Connected Systems - There are a few things to keep in mind when using this option.
    1. Selecting this option bypasses the Accept Deletes rule that is configured on the destination nodes of your pipeline.
    2. The record will be flagged as deleted in Syncari using the system field "Is Syncari Deleted". This means you will see the record in Data Studio after delete.
    3. The deletion of the record in the connected system will depend on the record being ID Mapped with the connected end system.
    4. The connected system must also support/allow a deletion of the record. 

3. After selecting the appropriate option, enter DELETE to confirm and click OK. 

2021-05-28_01-23-17__2_.gif

Deleting records using this method will keep a record of the deletions. Select the "View past deletions" option to see information on the deletions that occurred using this method.
2021-05-28_09-52-00.gif

Purge All Syncari Records for a single Entity

The Purge Data option will delete all records for a given entity in Syncari Only. We recommend pausing your pipeline when purging data to avoid any issues. 

IMPORTANT: If you are viewing a filtered set of records in Data Studio, the Purge Data option will not respect the filter. Purge Data will delete ALL Syncari records. 


Follow these steps to purge all Syncari records for a specific entity:
1. Click on the kebab menu icon to the right of the View Pipeline button and then select Purge Data.
2. To confirm, type in the word DELETE and click OK. 

mceclip0.gif

Share this

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful